The Institution of Structural Engineers The Institution of Structural Engineers


Date published

Our awards celebrate outstanding contributions by structural engineers to industry, society, engineering literature and Institution life.

The Structural Awards


For over 50 years, the Structural Awards have showcased the world's most cutting edge engineering achievements.

Past winners include iconic structures such as the Sydney Opera House, the Pompidou Centre and the Severn Bridge. 


The Gold Medal


Presented to individuals who have made a unique and outstanding contribution to the advancement of structural engineering. 

The prize was first presented in 1922, to Professor Henry Adams. Other past recipients include Felix Candela, Ove Arup, Oleg Kerensky and Edmund Happold. 


The People and Papers Awards


Celebrating outstanding individual accomplishment by members, and the best articles featured in The Structural Engineer and Structures. Awards are presented annually during a special event.


Papers Awards


Our judging panel recognises the best work published in The Structural Engineer each year. Awards include:


Sir Arnold Waters Medal

For the best presentation to have won a Regional Group award. 


Clancy Prize

For papers of merit related to the understanding and practice of the whole life management of structures including surveys, investigations, strategic planning, testing and subsequent works to the structure.


Derrington Construction Award

For papers of merit deemed to refer to construction and/or health and safety.


Guthrie Brown Award

For papers of merit, written by a member under 40 years of age.


Husband Prize

For papers of merit related to bridges.


Kenneth Severn Award

Essay competition: members answer a question set by our President for the chance to win £500 and be published in The Structural Engineer.


Murray Buxton Award

For papers of general interest.


Oscar Faber Award

For papers presented for discussion at evening meetings during the year.


Structures Research Journal Prizes

For papers of merit published in Structures. Awards are made by our Research Panel.


People Awards


Our Nominations Committee presents awards to recognise outstanding commitment to the Institution. These include:


Excellence in Structural Engineering Education Award

Showcasing innovative teaching techniques: offering a £1000 prize and the opportunity to be published in The Structural Engineer.


Keith Eaton Award

For exceptional contributions towards the Institution’s international interests. Keith Eaton was our Chief Executive from 1999 to December 2008.


Lewis Kent Award

For outstanding service by a member to the Institution or the profession. Lewis Kent was President of the Institution in 1959.


Lifetime Achievement Award

For outstanding long-term commitment by an individual to Institution activities.


Service Awards

For service by Regional Group officials and Institution representatives.


Young Structural Engineering Professional of the Year

A competition showcasing rising talent in structural engineering: offering a £1500 cash prize and two tickets to the Structural Awards.


Young Structural Engineering International Design Competition

The Institution's design challenge lets young engineers demonstrate their ingenuity, imagination and inventiveness.

Awards news and resources